NDC chairman Kicks Against Ponko’s Nomination

The Ejisu Juaben Chairman of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ashanti Region, Eugene Agyarko is kicking against the re-appointment of Yamoah Ponko as the Municipal Chief Executive for Ejisu Juaben.

According to him, any attempt to re-appoint Ponko will have dare consequences on the party in the upcoming 2016 general elections.

The NDC executives in July this year forced the MCE to leave his office after he refused to hand over when a letter to that effect had been sent to the Assembly by the Ministry of Local Government.

Speaking to Ultimate News, the Ejisu constituency chairman said they are not in favour of his appointment.

“He is not my favourite, because the way and manner he made the party suffer when we gave him the mandate. I don’t want him to come again,” he fumed.

He said he had no choice than to accept him as the MCE if indeed Mr. Ponko has been re-appointed.

‘All my party members have told me why he is being appointed again, but I told them I need confirmation from the minister. If he is indeed nominated I have nothing to do because I respect my President, I received one of the letters on my phone, but there is no signatures to it either Local Minister, Chief of Staff  or the President himself’.

President John Mahama nominated some Metropolitan, Municipal, and District Chief Executives for various districts in Ghana.

The nominees are; Paul Kingsley Averu Aweh for the Asanti Akyem North District Assembly, Yussif Haruna, Offinso South Municipal Assembly, Emmanuel Williams Amoako Sekyere, Kumawu District Assembly, Kwadwo Adei, Sekyere East District Assembly and Kwaku Afrifa Yamoah Ponko for the Ejisu-Juaben Municipal Assembly all in the Ashanti region.

The rest are Francis Kofi Ayikwei Tagoe for Effutu Municipal Assembly and Moses Jehu Appiah representing the Gomoa East District Assembly in the Central region.

Others include George Mensah Akpalu for the West Akim Municipal Assembly, Ben Ohene Ayeh Nsawam Adoagyiri Municipal Assembly and Kwabena Okyere Kusi for the New Juaben Municipal Assembly in the Eastern region.

The president also nominated Casmir Rockson Addo-Mensah for the Biakoye District Assembly and Peter Worlanyo Abomah for the Hohoe Municipal Assembly in the Volta region.