REVEALED:Defeated NDC Parliamentary Aspirant Sues EC and Winner

A defeated Parliamentary aspirant of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Mion Constituency of the Northern Region Dr. Mu-Awiya Zakaria has dragged the Electoral (EC) Commission and the winner of the primary in the area Mohammed Abdul Aziz to a Tamale High Court.

Dr. Mu-Awiya is seeking three reliefs: An order from the court for a recount of the ballot papers in the Nakokpagyili, Kulinkpegu, Bofoyili, Dabogni and Gunsi polling stations and an order declaring him as the lawful winner of the parliamentary primaries and also award cost against the defendants and any other measures as the justice of the case may require among others.

A statement of claim by the plaintiff’s solicitors, A.F. Yakubu, is challenging the 1st defendant, the Electoral Commission (EC) which is responsible for the administration, management and supervision of public elections in Ghana including the Mion NDC primaries held on the 21st November, 2015.

The EC declared Mohammed Abdul Aziz who is the 2nd defendant as a winner with 1,652 votes, whilst the plaintiff had 1,639 votes, a vote difference of only 13 but he is alleging there was some collusion to deprive him of victory reason for his latest action.

He described the said election as fundamentally flawed as the exercise in a number of polling stations were characterized by flaws and irregularities which robbed him of victory when he was optimistic he had carried the day.

Dr. Mu-Awiya believes the deputy Mion Constituency Secretary, who was the presiding officer of Tuwua L/A primary school polling station flouted the party’s constitution, which frowns on members of the executive openly supporting any candidate for an election.
To buttress his claim, the plaintiff said the Deputy Constituency Secretary’s name appeared on the declaration sheet as Presiding Officer and that incontrovertible evidence points that he is the constituency secretary.

After the first collation, the plaintiff said it was found that he had won with 1731 votes, whilst Abdul Aziz (2nd defendant) had 1576 votes but figures were later changed to favour the latter