B/A: Police Chief Warns Politicians ahead of November Polls

The Asutifi North District Police Com­mander ASP Teddy D Brown has issued a stem to political parties and residents in the area to abide by the rules governing the conduct of elections in the country.

He indicates that a task force formed in the district would not hesitate to apply the law on persons who would want to create trouble and pledged the resolve of the security agencies to ensure there is peace before, during and after the elections.

Speaking at the maiden meeting of a 14-member Asutifi North District Election Security Task force at Kenyasi, ASP Brown tasked members to remain fair and firm in the discharge of their duties by collaborating to ensure information sharing is maximized to maintain law and order during the elections.

“The task force will establish a joint operation centre (JOC) to collate information of potential threats to the peaceful conduct of the electoral process and measures to deal with them”, he revealed.

He added that the success of the impending election hugely depends on the task force, admonishing its members to work assiduously with firmness devoid of malice urging them to be professional to make 2016 polls an inci­dent-free one.

Earlier in an inaugural speech, the District Chief Executive (DCE) Eric Addae, pledged the assembly’s commitment for the districts election task force to discharge their duty with professionalism.

He observed that election in the country is accompanied by tension and aggressive campaigns resulting in violent confrontations hence the need to have an initiative to promote and foster unity for development by assisting the security agencies to prevent violence and intimidation.

The DCE charged the committee to justify the confidence reposed in them with commitment and discharge their duty with professionalism.

“Asutifi North District is relatively peaceful during elections but the taskforce must not undermine any information of potential threat to the peace of the country”, he disclosed.

The committee includes the Ghana Police, District Coordinating Director (DCD), Ghana Prisons Service (GPS), BNI, Ghana National Fire Service (GNFS), and National Commission for Civic education (NCCE), Information Services Department (ISD), Ghana Health Service (GHS), Electoral Commission (EC) as members. The co-opted members include representatives of the local council of Churches, Muslim Community, Kenyasi No.1, Kenyasi No.2 and Ntotroso Traditional Councils.

By: Ghana/Ultimate1069.com/106.9fm