Fierce Battle For Klottey Seat

Re-run of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary primary in the Klottey-Korle Constituency of the Greater Accra Region will take place at the party’s headquarters in Accra today.

The primary is to elect a candidate to represent the party in this year’s elections.

Lawyer Nii Adu Mante of the NPP annexed the seat from 2000 to 2008.

Former constituency chairman, Nii Noi Nortey and ace lawyer Philip Addison are contesting for the slot after Nii Adjei Tawiah, two-times failed parliamentary aspirant, pulled out of the race at the eleventh hour, possibly throwing his weight behind Mr Addison.

In August 2, 2015 Nii Noi Nortey won the primary but the result was annulled following protests by Mr Addison and Nii Adjei Tawiah that their supporters did not turn out to vote because they were not properly informed about the date.

The party set today for the re-run after an Accra High Court dismissed an application by the embattled Klottey-Korle parliamentary candidate, Nii Noi Nortey, who had asked the court to set aside a default judgment for a re-run of the primary.

Addison Promises Support

Mr. Addison, who has been working behind the scenes since the court ordered a re-run of the election, said he would win the contest and go ahead to annex the seat for the NPP in November.

Prior to the election, Lawyer Addison declared that he would support Nii Noi Nortey if he loses today’s poll.

Frank Davies, campaign manager for Philip Addison, expressed optimism that his boss would emerge victorious, stating, “What happened on 2nd August is past and gone. We are in a new regime and I think the good people of Klottey-Korle will make the right choice.”

Nii Noi Vows

Nii Noi has vowed to win the election today, counting on his selfless sacrifice as constituency chairman.

“I am very optimistic I am going to win but like I always keep saying, I am not complacent with elections. Not until the last ballot is counted and you are declared winner, you are supposed to be working hard,” he pointed out.

Voting Patterns

From 1992 to date, the seat has been held by four parliamentarians from three different political parties.

Nathan Tetteh Mensah of Every Ghanaian Living Everywhere (EGLE) Party was the Member of Parliament (MP) from 1992 to 1996.

Then it was captured by David Lamptey of the NDC from 1996 to 2000.

Nii Adu Daku Mante of the NPP held the seat from 2000 to 2008, and the NDC’s Nii Armah Ashietey has occupied the seat since 2009.

Klottey-Korle comprises seven electoral areas namely, Kinkawe, Osu Doku, Ringway Estate, Osu Alata, Adabraka Official Town/Odorna, Adabraka/Tudu and Asylum Down.

Credit:Daily Guide