Successful presidential nominees to be announced today

The Electoral Commission (EC) will on Wednesday November 9, 2016 announce names of  disqualified presidential nominees who are qualified to contest in the presidential race for the December  7, polls.

The disqualified candidates were given opportunity by the EC through a Supreme Court ruling to rectify the anomalies on their nomination forms extending the nomination period to November 8, 2016. 

Nine candidates who have successfully submitted their forms include Dr Nasigre Mahama People’s National Convention (PNC), Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom’s Progressive People’s Party (PPP), National Democratic Party (NDP) Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings, All People’s Congress (APC) Dr Hassa Ayariga, the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) Dr Henry Lartey, Independent candidate Asiedu Walker, United Progressive Party (UPP) Akwasi Addai ‘Odike’, and United Front Party (UFP) Dr Agyenim Boateng ‘Gyataba’.

The court also ordered the suspension of the various court cases regarding the disqualification of other presidential aspirants.

By: Ghana/