Mahama Denies ‘$8m Nyantakyi Funding’ Claim

Former President John Mahama has described as “propaganda” media reports that he benefited from supposed donations by investor-friend of the embattled President of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) Kwasi Nyantakyi.

According to media reports, Nyantakyi who is facing charges for fraudulently using President Akufo-Addo’s name to swindle some investors stated in his caution statement on May 23, that an amount of $8 million was given to Mr. Mahama and the NDC ahead of the 2016 elections.

In a tweet Tuesday, Mahama said: “Over the years people fought & in some cases paid the ultimate price for the freedoms we enjoy today. When a supposedly respected media house like Multimedia allows itself to be used for political propaganda, it besmirches our common honour & the sacrifices we’ve made as a people.”

Meanwhile, about 12,000 Ghanaians are expected to watch the much talked-about investigative piece by undercover journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas which is set to premier tomorrow Wednesday June 6, 2018.

According to the project manager of the latest expose’ titled number 12, Latif Abubakr, the Tiger EyePI  team is ready for the overwhelming number of Ghanaians who are eager to attend the various shows.

“We know Ghanaians are eager to watch how things unfolded in the whole piece which took over two years to do, as my boss himself has said. So far we expect about 12,000 people to watch the shows at the conference centre between Wednesday and Thursday,” Latif who is also a playwright told Francis Abban on the Morning Starr Tuesday.

The yet-to-be aired video centres mainly on malpractices within the football fraternity and the game in the country.

Already, the President of the Ghana Football Association Kwasi Nyantakyi is facing charges for fraudulently using President Akufo-Addo’s name in the investigative piece.

Additionally, the name of some 15 Ghanaian referees have been mentioned for corrupt activities as captured in the video.

The accused referees include, James Osafo, Jason Nunoo, Kennedy Bentil, Adams Badiu, Alhassan Badiu, Safi adade, Samuel sukah and Kyereme Yeboah.

The rest are Cecil Fletcher, Nathan Anafo, Harry Atitonu, Umar Teni Wellington, Charles Dawouna and Rahman Salifu.




Source: Starrfmonline